child abuse

The four main types of child abuse are:

Sexual abuse/sexual misconduct

Any sexual act or sexual threat imposed on a child or young person.

For example, suggestive behaviour, inappropriate touching or voyeuristically watching an athlete shower or change clothes.

Physical abuse

Non-accidental injury and/or harm to a child or young person, caused by another person such as a parent, care-giver or even an older child.

For example, physically punishing a young person for losing a game by hitting, throwing equipment, pushing or shoving.

Emotional abuse

Behaviours that may psychologically harm a child or young person.

For example, threatening language, bullying, ridicule, personal abuse and comments designed to demean and humiliate.


Failing to provide a child or young person with basic physical and emotional necessities, harming them or putting them at risk of harm.

For example, keeping the best young player on-field to win the game despite having an injury or making children play in excessive heat.



These definitions and indicators have been included as a guide only. They do not replace the need for consultation with professionals who work in the area of child abuse.


Search for more resources relating to "Child Abuse" in the Resources section