• Diversity and Inclusion in Australian Sport

12m 28s

Kate Palmer is a leading Australian sport administrator. She was appointed the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Sports Commission in December 2016. Previous to this appointment, she was Chief Executive Officer of Netball Australia.

Thank you very much for inviting me to speak and excuse my voice and I hope I can get through this.  Look, it’s wonderful coming here today and I must admit to see so many familiar faces and I wasn’t going to call anyone out but I have to say one of the people that influenced me most as a young, I wasn’t actually so young, I was a mature-age student but I thought I was young, was Geoff Walkley.  He first introduced me to disability sport and it’s become a life long passion Geoff because of how you influenced me those many, many years ago so thank you for that because it has made a big difference to how I behave now.  

As a relatively new CEO of the Australian Sports Commission I’ve been exploring how our organisation can have a greater impact.  What are the game changers?  What should we prioritise?  What contribution can we make to the community?  What’s our role in describing, designing and delivering a better future for Australians?  I would like to acknowledge the work of Merilee Barnes, Director of Culture & Leadership and her team at the Australian Sports Commission. In preparing for today Merilee and I discussed not only what inclusivity and diversity meant for sport but also what it meant to be Australian.  Two recent situations have strengthened my understanding and commitment to champing a fairer Australia. I’m working with an organisation at the moment and I won’t tell you who it is but they’re fairly prominent and I was really concerned about the lack of gender equality so it was raised.